Tennessee Drunk Driving Statistics
Statistics show that in the U.S., one in three traffic fatalities involves drunk drivers. It is a well-known fact that drivers who have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher are considered by the law as alcohol-impaired and should not be behind the wheel of a vehicle. If you live in or are visiting Tennessee, you may wonder about Tennessee drunk driving statistics.
Tennessee Drunk Driving Statistics and Impact
According to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security, in 2017, as many as 7,919 automobile crashes involved drivers under the influence of alcohol and drugs. These crashes caused 5,375 injuries and led to 348 fatalities. In the period between 2003 and 2012, 3,423 people died in car crashes that involved a drunk driver.
Experts estimate that, in the course of their lifetime, two out of three Americans will be affected by a drunk driver. This statistic should be enough to dissuade people from drinking and then getting behind the wheel. However, this does not seem to be the case. It is estimated that the average drunk driver drives more than 80 times before he or she is arrested.
How to Deal with a DUI in Tennessee
In the state of Tennessee if one is found to be driving under the influence, there are certain mandatory and minimum penalties. These penalties depend on several factors, the most important of which is whether this is the first DUI or if it is a repeat offense. The penalty, associated jail time, and loss of drivers license will also depend on this factor.
A first DUI charge would carry a penalty fee of $350, 48 hours in jail, and loss of license for a year. If this is a driver’s fourth offense, the fine can be as high as $2,500, with a jail time of 150 days and loss of license for five years.
If you have been stopped and found guilty of a DUI charge, it is important that you contact a Nashville DUI attorney as soon as possible. An experienced and skilled lawyer would be well-versed in the DUI laws of the state and will ensure that your case is well-represented.
Often, offenders think that they will be able to bring down the charges but fail to do so. Your DUI lawyer would know how to fight a DUI charge in order to have the charge reduced or dismissed. The attorney will also be able to spot any errors and omissions in the DUI paperwork.